RSS

THE CORN EPISODE

09 Aug

Anyone want to know what I did today?  I have corn coming out my ears.  My mom and I went together and got corn to freeze.  I did 5 dozen ears.  If you’ve never frozen corn, this is what you do:

Husk and silk.  
Boil for 4-1/2 minutes, cool in basin of cold water (or in my case, sink)
Cut the corn off the cobs, put in freezer bags
 

Sounds simple enough, right?  With kids, not so much. Can I bare my soul here and show you all what my kitchen sink looked like earlier today?

But it is a wonderful feeling that I now have 14 beautiful pints of corn to put in my freezer.  And I know what is in it.  And I know that no one accidentally dropped gluten in it.  And I know what it looked like before it went into the freezer bags.  And best of all, it was really economical.  Not free by any means, but really how little can you possibly pay for a bag of frozen vegetables?

I paid $12.50 for 5 dozen ($2.50 a dozen).  I got 14 pints.  That is $0.89 per bag.  Pretty decent.  And it tastes better.  Here’s my final product:

So now, I have a confession to make.  I had a REALLY bad day.  I got up at 5:15 to work (I work full-time from home, if you didn’t know, and NOT on my blog, that’s extra).  Kayla got up at 5:15 too.  I worked for an hour. Hannah got up at 6:15.  So I gave up.

Then I thought, we’ll go out.  Because sometimes it is easier to go out.  So we went to the garden.  And the park.  And CVS.  And the McDonald’s play area.  And the library.  And they were bad.  I got evil looks from strangers, like I am “one of those” moms.  You know the ones.  The ones that cannot control their children. And it rained.

Then we came home and ate lunch.  We were scheduled to go to my mom’s at 1 to do the corn, and I remembered at 11:30 that I had no freezer bags.  And the best deal was at Target.  And since I obsessively cannot do anything except the best deal, I took the 15-minute drive to Target, in the pouring rain, with both naughty children.

At least the Target trip was successful.  Here’s the breakdown:

40 count quart size freezer bags on price cut for $3.79
15 gallon size freezer bags on price cut for $2.39
Jif To Go $2.19 (I was FINALLY able to find this in stock!)
Three Dannon Activia 4 packs at $2.09 each
Two packs of Sharpie markers $1 each
 
Used:
$1/2 coupon from the 8/7 insert
Stacked with the $1/2 Target Ziploc coupon previously found here
Jif To Go free item coupon that I posted about here 
Three $1/1 Activia Target coupons found here
Three $1/1 Activia manufacturer coupons from my binder (that my hubby found at the doctor’s office – we pick them up wherever we go!)
Two $1/1 Sharpie Target coupons previously found here
 
Total Cost before coupons:  $18.53
Total Cost after coupons:  $4.24
 

And if anyone wants to know what I got at CVS, that was rather successful too:

Raisins $1.89 on sale
Gold Emblem Popcorn $1.37
Prilosec OTC $10.99 (with $2 ECB)
New CVS body wash
 
I used:
$1/1 Dried Fruit coupon from the CVS magic coupon machine
$2/1 Gold Emblem snack item product from the CVS magic coupon machine (Yes, this was for 11 ounces or larger.  I made a mistake, I guess popcorn is really light, but the cashier was not concerned and put it through anyway.  Whoops!)
FREE CVS body wash coupon previously available here
FREE Prilosec 14 count coupon that my neighbor gave me (she doesn’t use it, my husband does).  No idea WHY she gets such great coupons, she gets better coupons than I do, and she claims she has never signed up for any. 
 
Final Cost:  $0.26, plus got a $2 ECB from the Prilosec
I used that, plus my $5 Beauty Club ECB that printed when I walked in the store, to buy Children’s Ibuprofen, making it virtually free.  
 

Now, back to the story….

Got to mom’s on time, put kiddo #2 down for a nap, but guess who didn’t want to sleep at Grandma’s?  Was awake for a half hour until her sister went in, unbeknownst to me, and took her out of the pack and play because “she was crying”.  Gave up on the nap, packaged up all the husked corn, and went home for the nap.  Somehow I managed to get most of it done before she woke up.

So would you believe, now I cannot find the ibuprofen from CVS?  Somewhere in the course of my crazy day, it disappeared.  And I still have most of my day’s work to do yet today.

But, despite all of this, I am thankful.  Because my children are healthy enough to be bad.  Because I have 14 pints of corn in my freezer, when many people do not know where their next meal is coming from.  Because I got such great deals on the things I needed today.  Because I have family and friends who love me.  And because the God of the universe loves me.  Really, despite a crazy day, I should be very, very grateful.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2011 in About

 

7 responses to “THE CORN EPISODE

  1. Gail Ayers

    August 9, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    When we “do corn” it seems the flies send out a message to every other fly in a 50 miles radius that the corn juices are flowing at Frosty Hollow B&B, and they all converge on us. My husband insists that corn go from the garden to the freezer in less than 30 minutes. Break-neck speed!!! Loved your post today. I’ve had many days like this.

     
    • glutenfreelyfrugal

      August 9, 2011 at 9:13 pm

      So Potter County has flies too…..thought maybe the cooler weather would keep them away! 🙂 And I’ll bet you have a lot of corn to do, too, judging by the size of your beautiful garden!

       
  2. Mom

    August 9, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    Dear Janelle,
    I wish I could make all your bad days go away – I love you so much. I’m sorry the corn freezing didn’t go as we planned. Looking forward to Saturday evening.
    Hugs,
    Mom

     
    • glutenfreelyfrugal

      August 9, 2011 at 9:12 pm

      Don’t worry, most things don’t go as planned. The evening was better. I washed out your 3 bags for you so you can reuse 🙂

       
  3. Brad

    August 9, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    Babe,
    You are so awesome, and I am so grateful for all you do. I am very grateful for you and what a wonderful wife you are.

     
  4. Kelly

    August 10, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Your kitchen looks way better than my mom’s when we do corn there! With three toddlers and two infants, ours never goes as planned either. My sisters and I joked that we need to hire a babysitter for corn and applesauce making so we can get it done! Glad you are still grateful though, a good perspective is priceless : )

     
  5. glutenfreelyfrugal

    August 11, 2011 at 5:46 am

    My sister and I together have 5 kids as well. We do corn, applesauce, peaches, pears, all sorts of stuff at my mom’s. And we say the same thing! We can’t get anything accomplished with all those kiddos running around!

     

Leave a comment